The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes celebrates inspiring, public-spirited young people from diverse backgrounds all across North America. Each year, the Barron Prize honors 25 outstanding young leaders ages 8 to 18 that have made a significant positive difference to people and the environment. 15 winners will be chosen and each will receive $5000 award amount and many more.

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes was established in 2001 by author T.A. Barron. Since its inception, the Barron Prize has awarded more than half a million dollars to hundreds of young leaders and has won the support of the National Geographic Education Foundation, Girl Scouts of the USA, and National Youth Leadership Council, among other organizations.


The Barron Prize welcomes applications from public-spirited young people who are:

  • Between the ages of 8 and 18 (not yet age 19)
  • Permanent residents of and currently residing in the U.S.A. or Canada
  • Currently working on an inspiring service project or have done so within the past 12 months
  • Working as an individual to lead their service work. The Barron prize does not accept applications from large groups of young people.

How to Apply:

For applying in contest, you have to sign up through the given link:

Award Amount:

  • The 15 winners each receive $5,000 to be applied to their higher education or to their service project.
  • Each winner receives a beautiful personalized plaque and recognition certificate.
  • Each winner receives a signed copy of The Hero’s Trailby Barron Prize founder T.A. Barron, along with a copy of Dream Big, their documentary film profiling several former Barron Prize winners. Winners also receive Young Heroes Activity Guide and Bibliography.
  • Winners are given the opportunity to connect with other Barron Prize honorees through our Young Heroes online forum.
  • Winners are provided with numerous media opportunities – print, television, and radio – to publicize and extend the reach of their service work.

Application Deadline:

Applications must be completed and submitted online by deadline of 5:00 p.m. MST on April 15 each year.

Link for More Information:


Pin It on Pinterest