EERI/FEMA Graduate Fellowship

The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) establishes a one-year fellowship program named as “EERI/FEMA Graduate Fellowship”. You must be enrolled in a graduate degree program at an accredited U.S. college or university to apply for the fellowship program. The fellowship program is designed to foster the participation of capable individuals in working toward goals and activities of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program. The fellowship provides a stipend of $12,000.

The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) is a national, nonprofit, technical society of engineers, geoscientists, architects, planners, public officials, and social scientists. EERI members include researchers, practicing professionals, educators, government officials, and building code regulators. The objective of EERI is to reduce earthquake risk by advancing the science and practice of earthquake engineering.


The fellowship will be strategically awarded to applicants who:

  • Applicants must be enrolled in a graduate degree program at an accredited U.S. college or university
  • Must hold U.S. citizenship or permanent resident status.

How to Apply:

Interested applicants can go through the given link and complete the online application process

Supporting Documents:

To complete your application, submit the following supporting documents:

  • An academic transcript and a statement of educational and career goals that also describes involvement in EERI
  • A letter of nomination from a faculty sponsor at the student’s institution
  • Two additional reference letters. Letters should evaluate the applicant’s recent academic performance
  • Document the applicant’s research accomplishments, and assess the candidate’s potential to contribute to the field.

Financial Aid and Award Money:             

Fellowship program provides a stipend of $12,000 applicants use this award money used for tuition, fees, and research expenses.

Application Deadline: 

You have the chance to apply for the scholarship until July 9, 2017.

Link for More Information:

Pin It on Pinterest